A few thoughts on late bloomers (or adult beginners)

A few thoughts on late bloomers (or adult beginners)

I won’t lie. I get jealous when I see spectacularly beautiful dancers and you just know they’ve been training since they were 0.001 years old. Whyyy oh why didn’t my mum encourage me to stay in dance classes? What if what if what if. You know, that old train of thought.

And I was thinking, I might actually be kind of glad that I’m beginning at this age?? See, as an (obligatory: young) adult beginner, I can really immerse myself in the learning process through reading and watching documentaries and movies and reading other peoples experiences right here on WordPress. Isn’t that kinda rad? And we know our bodies so much better than we did when we were four.

Like, we’re doing what kids do but we get the cool added bonus of being able to think about ballet in a way that four year olds just aren’t able to (as far as I’m aware). Intelligently, artistically, analytically, and on this deeper personal level.

Yeah, we’ll never get to learn ballet in a completely spongey (kids are sponges right) pure way, but they’ll never get to learn ballet in the adventurous/passionate/personal way that we get to learn it, ya know? You have to have a good amount of dedication, determination, and desire to learn ballet as an adult. A four year old only needs her mum to take her to classes.

I don’t mean to make people who have learnt since they were kids feel bad or anything. I’m just trying and failing to put my thoughts into words!

PS: Yo that’s half my face.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/956/81742055/files/2015/01/img_5969.jpg

6 thoughts on “A few thoughts on late bloomers (or adult beginners)

  1. Hey! Absolutely great to read this. One of my many adventures now is starting out as an adult beginner (albeit a little older, 25) and diving in! Though I am only about to begin my first true ballet class (I’m in a theatre dance class now which has elements of that) I took Jazz 1 and Tap 1 at the university I go to and I got so hooked! It’s so neat to meet people like that who have the passion and have their own analytical life stories to it all. It’s amazing. Thanks for your perspective 🙂

    -Shelton

    Like

  2. I am a so called late bloomer, not in dance tho. I have two left feet 🙂
    My love of photography (and photographing dancers occasionally) started late in life, but I have a lot of fun with it.
    As a slightly older person, you will appreciate it more I suspect, than some recalcitrant teenager who feels they would rather be at the mall than the studio.
    Enjoy every moment

    Like

  3. I’m a late bloomer…33 when I started last year and now 34, and coming to adult ballet class, to my daughter’s ballet instructor was quite hilarious at first. She actually mentioned some of our similar habits at first, which was very interesting.
    Although I am taking a short break to afford my daughter’s classes, I plan on getting back into it (hopefully) next month, and oh, how I miss it so!
    Ballet is wonderful for all ages! We have a woman in her 50’s, a man in his 40’s, a couple of us in our 30’s, and a young lady that is a teen however wasn’t too pleased to dive into ballet 1 with the 5 year olds. We all push ourselves at our own rate, however I am always challenging myself.
    I’ve never taken a ballet class, ever, until adult ballet last year, and although I’d rather work barre over floor (I seem to get overwhelmed when there’s too much freedom on the floor, and I think of the beautiful ballerinas, such as my 12 year old daughter that float across the floor, and then I want to laugh and leave, asking myself what am I thinking being there…a sudden appearance of insecurity I haven’t seen since I was about nineteen.)
    Learning ballet older, you learn it slightly differently but at a faster rate and your muscles memory is faster. I myself over-think things…I have to make myself stop that…which is hard at times.
    It isn’t require in our adult ballet class, however I’ve gone all out in dress attire, living out my childhood fantasy; I legitimately wear a leo, tights and ballet slippers. My daughter has let me borrow some of her ballet stuff and offered to do my bun, which is hilarious. I even bought the most expensive (& elegant) leo I could find, investing in it so I would stick with it…yep, I’ll be back.

    I’m enjoying your blog. Fun to read. Thanks for sharing your experience.
    Oh, and has anyone ever told you (based on your half face pic here,) that you look like Adelaide Kane from Reign on CW?
    -Tiffany

    Like

    1. Hi! Thanks for the comment. That point about you and your daughter having similar habits is so interesting.

      Oh god centre work is much harder than barre work for me too. If you keep trying I’ll keep trying 😉

      I love that you wear proper ballet attire. I haven’t been able to bring myself to do that yet. I really want to though. One day!

      I’m glad you’re enjoying reading my ramblings! I actually don’t know who Adelaide Kane is. I’ll have to google it.

      Like

  4. @poet598: “albeit a little older, 25”. Mwah hah hah hah….I’m 53 (no, did not transpose the digits), and returned to ballet last September after a 30 year absence. (Didn’t start until I was in university, as I had a mother who said “fat little girls don’t do ballet.) (And I still have pretty much the same sort of physique I had at age 6, but with boobs. So bite me.) Spent the first term in leggings and a cami (but with proper slippers, bien sûr), but now have decked myself out in leo, tights, and skirt and definitely feel more dancer-y. (And have adopted the “tights *are* the underwear mantra; hope that’s not TMI.) Our new teacher this term said to me: “I can tell you have had classical training before”, and that I have “such a beautiful quality.” So even if my développé feels like it’s only 6 inches off the floor, it’s *my” développé, and I’m lovin’ doing it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

