Pointe?!

Pointe?!

My teacher has given me the green light. I’ve booked a pointe shoe fitting for tomorrow afternoon. Who knew I would ever get to this stage? Not me, that’s for sure.

I feel nervous but so SO EXCITED. The lady I spoke to on the phone when I booked asked which dance school I go to, and it turns out she goes to the same place! Hopefully she does my fitting tomorrow.

It doesn’t feel real. I know it’s going to be hard work and everyone sucks at first, so I’m trying not to get too excited… But it’s hard not to.

I’ll make sure to do a blog post about the pointe shoe fitting experience.

theraband exercise underneath desk at work intensifies

On another note, the class I was worried about in my previous post was completely fine. I worried for nothing as per usual. The only thing I noticed was a slight decline in flexibility, most noticeable during grande battements. My releve has gotten better. And for goodness sake, I hate humidity because it makes the floor so sticky in this one room that it’s like pirouette-ing on sticky tape. Then I went to another class on Wednesday in the other studio and the floor was slippery as hell which made it tricky to land the pirouettes. The things I would do for a regular floor in an air-conditioned studio…

7 thoughts on “Pointe?!

  1. Congratulations! And a big, “Well done!” for all of the work you’ve put into reaching this point(e)*!

    *The pun was originally unintentional, but apparently my resistance is weak tonight…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so wonderful!!!! I got mine (first time as an adult) this summer and I have to say. I really worked myself up beforehand thinking it would be super hard and I probably wouldn’t be able to do it. Or that I’d have to give it up because it’d be too painful or something like that. But so far I’ve had no problems (aside from burning through shoes at an epic rate). It’s far easier than I thought it would be. Once your teacher says you’re ready for pointe, you’ll really be able to just do it. And you never know what you’re going to be good at until you try, I discovered pointe is kind of my thing. Who knew that could be a thing? I’ve not had so much as a single blister. You may well be just as lucky. I’m wishing you luck, that’s for sure!

    Like

Leave a comment